- igNation - https://ignation.ca -

Thoughts on a Passage

The following poem was written before attending Regis College.


Brahms Piano Concerto #1, d-
Found in Adagio movement
conductor: Claudio Arrau
piano: Carlo Maria Giulini

A reflection of the inner landscape
perhaps that of a tormented soul in the belief
there is nothing in the world which speaks its language.
Yet resolution is arrived at without compromise
while subtlety cloaks its peace.

There are no trumpet proclamations here:
no cries of alarm and no claim to victory.
The ear strains at its near-silence
pregnant with “what ifs” more real than art.
In its etherealness, its non-mingling with earthly commonality
an undiluted Truth is found and reborn
in the fleshed heart.